Annual Reunion and Dinner

Annual reunion and Dinner.

Albert McNally (second left) makes a presentation to Ronnie McFall MBE at the Old Boys’ Reunion and Dinner. Also pictured are Brian Morrison (Vice-Chairman), Errol McCrory, John Proctor and Steven Wright (Chairman).

Annual Reunion and Dinner

The annual Reunion and Dinner of 1st Portadown Company Boys’ Brigade Old Boys’ Association took place on Friday, May 13, 2016 in Edenderry Memorial Methodist Church Hall.
Forty five (that number increased to forty seven later in the evening) members, Old Boys and guests enjoyed a first class meal served by Yvonne Aston and her catering team, with entertainment later from Aaron Cassells, a member of 1st Portadown B.B. Anchor Boys and a pupil of Jenny Chambers School of Speech and Drama, who recited his poem ‘Sandy and Andy’, and also Brian Johnston and Raymond Cooper (a member of the Association) from the group, Accordion Sounds.

Special guest at the evening was former Portadown Football Club manager, Ronnie McFall MBE, himself an ex-member of 1st Portadown B.B. who took part in a fascinating question and answer session with Brian Courtney, a member of the Association and formerly senior soccer correspondent of the ‘Portadown Times’. Ronnie recalled his early days in Portadown and later reminisced on his playing and managerial career.

Also attending the dinner were two former Presidents of the Methodist Church in Ireland, the Rev. Aian Ferguson and the Rev. Roy Cooper.

Attending the dinner were ; Rev. Kenneth Robinson (President, 1st Portadown Company Boys’ Brigade Old Boys’ Association), Rev. Aian Ferguson, Rev. Mark Durrell, Rev. Roy Cooper, Albert Adamson (VP), Peter Aiken, Billy Austin, Jim Boyd, Trevor Brady, Billy Cooper, Brian Courtney, Dr. Raymond Cox, Brian Crozier, Denis Currie, Billy England, John Gates, Leonard Gillis, Ryan Harris, George Harrison, Ronnie Herron, Wilfred Henderson, Billy McCann, Kenneth McClatchey, Errol McCrory, Ronnie McFall MBE, John McLellan, Albert McNally, Lloyd Montgomery, Kenneth Moffett, Brian Morrison (Vice-Chairman), Victor Pickering (VP and Life Member), Stephen Pollock, John Proctor, Alan Ruddell, Jim Silcock, Paul Teggart (Secretary), Henry Thompson, Jeffrey Toal, Kenneth Twyble (VP), Dessie Watson, Ronnie Watson, Mervyn White, Errol Whitten, Roy Woolsey, Bobbie Wright (VP), Dr. John Wright and Steven Wright (Chairman/Treasurer).
Due to the Northern Ireland District Boys’ Brigade Queen’s Badge Certificate presentation in Ballymena, apologies were received from four members, David Blevins (President, Northern Ireland District Boys’ Brigade), Geoffrey Good, Jonathan Gracey (Northern Ireland District Boys’ Brigade Regional Director) and Kenneth Vennard BEM.
Others unable to be present included Anthony Birkby, Martin and Matthew Brownlee, Alistair Burns, David Burrows (VP and junior), Lynn Burrows, Mervyn Carrick, Mark Cornett, Ivan Davison (VP), Eddie Drury MBE, Wesley Gould (VP), Matthew Gregg, Jonathan Hampton, Timothy Irwin, Errol Johnston (VP), Stephen Kerr, Derek Laverty (VP and Bible Class Leader), Harry Leeman (VP), Bertie McAfee, Billy McCrory, Jim McClung, David Pepper, Rev. Duane Russell and Leslie Wells (VP).

The evening ended with the traditional singing of ‘The Lord’s My Shepherd’, accompanied by Ryan Harris (keyboard) and Accordion Sounds.


Posted on

13th May 2016